Meet Marsha Nelson

unnamed (1)

“I currently live in Valrico, Florida and have for over 20 years. I am a member of The Brandon League of Fine Arts and have been for over 15 years.”

I always loved to draw, but never got serious until I was older. I started taking drawing classes at junior colleges in Daytona Beach and HCC in Brandon. This made it easier to be able to draw from my own pictures. It was easy to go to colored pencil and pastels from there. I also took watercolor classes from an artist in Destin, Florida and at Center Place in Brandon. Since then I have gotten awards at various local shows and started selling my art locally.

My photography started taking off when my sister, a photographer moved to the area. We had always enjoyed taking pictures when together, but when digital cameras came out that really started my bird photography off since I love being outdoors and you could take all the pictures you wanted without the cost of film. My husband and I plan vacations around this as he loves to be outdoors also and enjoys taking landscape pictures. We have gone to Alaska twice and plan to go again. There is a lot of beautiful scenery to be seen and lots of birds. Although, you can’t beat Florida and the birds generally are used to people. You can get very close to them. You still need a good long lens and a good camera. I really have taken an interest in birds and know their habits which really helps. I have a blind set up at my home to capture pictures of nervous small birds.

Too make a long story short I love bird photography and going where birds are such as parks and rookeries. Birds are always a challenge as they don’t stand still. I also love boat trips where you can see whales and sea birds. What can I say all of this keeps you happy and feeling good about yourself. You also meet lots of interesting people. I love to draw and paint too. I just wish there was enough time for everything.

The Creative Artist Gallery

Leave a comment